EXPLORE

Ode to the St. Lawrence

LOWER ST. LAWRENCE

On the edge of Bic National Park, in the St. Lawrence Maritime Estuary, are 13 timeless refuges, unique hotel cabins whose names evoke the open sea, the salty air and the immensity of the river. Summer and winter alike, this accommodation site promises discovery and wonder!

The river as you've never seen it.

Walking on the ground of this site, one has the impression that the cottages have always been there, waiting for the traveller to offer him a well-deserved rest. In reality, they appeared, one by one, without disturbing the century-old trees that had priority. Hard to believe? Not once you get to know Martin and Jean-Luc, two attentive hosts, determined to offer the most authentic experience there is at Le Vieux Loup de Mer! Glampsource had the great pleasure of chatting with them.

The Adventurer, the Nordet, the Sea Wolf, the Smuggler... The names evoke the open sea, the salty air and the sun disappearing on the horizon. Each of the wooden houses located in the Baie-Rose area has its own personality. Whether you choose one of the Chic-Shacks with their unparalleled comfort and irresistible charm, the cottages overlooking the shore, facing the river, or the cozy cottages nestled in the hollow of the cliff, you know you'll enjoy a breathtaking view of the immensity and beauty of this corner of the country whose heart beats to the rhythm of the tides. Most of the cottages were transported, piece by piece, by Jean-Luc, who went in search of log homes. It's simple," he tells us, "just take them apart, number the parts, and put them back together once on site. »

Ah! Yes!! Very simple!!!!

The result is striking: each of the houses is wrapped in the landscape, the huge trees have kept their place, it's purely magnificent. An artist's work! And the interior is just as enchanting. Martin and Jean-Luc, who have long been lovers of flea markets, have a stock of treasures that give a soul to each of the cottages. And you can feel this soul as soon as you open the door!

Empty the tank during the day, fill it up at night!

As you sleep right next to the Bic National Park, you have another natural treasure at our disposal that you must explore! Hiking, swimming, paddle surfing, biking, climbing, and so many other ideas to get away from it all! The principle is quite simple: in the morning, when you get up, you decide what tempts you the most, and off you go! If you run out of inspiration - which would be amazing - ask Martin or Jean-Luc for advice, they will be happy to share their favourites.

A day visitor to the Vieux Loup de Mer, or a long distance traveller, you must take the stairs that give privileged access to the shore. Nothing regenerates as much as direct contact with this force of nature that is the St. Lawrence River. When the sun goes down, the entire sky is set ablaze, it's breathtaking! Omnipresent on the site, this benevolent neighbour rocks us and makes us dream of the craziest adventures! When we return from a day of exercise, we open a good bottle, sit on our balcony and enjoy the moment.

20 years of impeccable hospitality, and it goes on and on.

The story of Le Vieux Loup de Mer began in 1999, when Martin and Jean-Luc bought a small Swiss chalet, which is still on the site. At the time, it takes a good dose of imagination to glimpse the possibilities of this loveless dwelling. Imagination, and vision, these two are not lacking in it! Over the years, the cottages have multiplied, transported one by one by Jean-Luc (yes, we repeat ourselves, but have you understood the amount of work????), the offer has diversified, the operation has become more precise. In 2006, Martin started working full time on the project, joined in 2011 by Jean-Luc. Today, we enjoy a top-of-the-range service, we are treated to the little onions and we can forget all about outside life for the time of a fabulous stay.

That's what they're all about, both of them: reception and hospitality. Martin strives to ensure that everyone's stay will be unique and memorable, and from the amount of delighted comments he receives, we know he's aiming for the bull's-eye! As for Jean-Luc, he acts on the ambiance, the decor, the atmospheres. If Martin is the director, Jean-Luc is the artistic director!

A thousand thanks to them for enabling us to discover this incomparable refuge.

SHARE

Marjolaine Quintal

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin

Search for your destination and discover the art of outdoor living.

Subscribe to our newsletter and discover the art of outdoor living.

Subscribe to our newsletter and discover the art of outdoor living.

DÉCOUVRIR

Place au Saint-Laurent

BAS-SAINT-LAURENT

À l’orée du parc national du Bic, dans l’estuaire maritime du Saint-Laurent, se trouvent 13 refuges hors du temps, des chalets hôteliers uniques dont les noms évoquent le grand large, l’air salin et l’immensité du fleuve. Été comme hiver, ce site d’hébergement promet découvertes et émerveillement!

Le fleuve comme vous ne l’avez jamais vu

En foulant le sol de ce site, on a l’impression que les chalets ont toujours été là, et qu’ils attendent le voyageur pour lui offrir un repos bien mérité. En réalité, ils sont apparus, un à un, sans trop déranger les arbres centenaires qui avaient priorité. Difficile à croire? Pas une fois qu’on a fait la connaissance de Martin et Jean-Luc, deux hôtes attentionnés, et déterminés à proposer l’expérience la plus authentique qui soit au Vieux Loup de Mer! Glampsource a eu le grand plaisir de discuter avec eux.

L’Aventurier, le Nordet, le Loup marin, le Contrebandier… Les noms évoquent le grand large, l’air salin et le soleil qui disparaît à l’horizon. Chacune des maisons de bois situées dans le secteur de la Baie-Rose possède sa personnalité. Qu’on choisisse un des Chic-Shacks au confort sans pareil et au charme irrésistible, les maisonnettes qui donnent sur la grève, face au fleuve, ou les chalets douillets nichés dans le creux de la falaise, on sait qu’on profitera d’une vue imprenable sur l’immensité et la beauté de ce coin de pays dont le cœur bat au rythme des marées. La plupart des chalets ont été transportés, pièce par pièce, par Jean-Luc, qui est parti à la recherche de maisons en rondins. « C’est simple, nous dit-il, il suffit de les démonter, de numéroter les parties, et de remonter le tout une fois sur le site. »

Ah! Ben oui!! Tout simple!!!

Le résultat est saisissant : chacune des maisons se love dans le paysage, les arbres énormes ont conservé leur place, c’est purement magnifique. Un travail d’artiste! Et l’intérieur est tout aussi enchanteur. Longtemps amateurs de brocante, Martin et Jean-Luc ont un stock de trésors qui viennent donner une âme à chacun des chalets. Et cette âme, on la sent dès qu’on pousse la porte!

Faites le vide le jour, faites le plein la nuit!

Comme on dort juste à côté du parc national du Bic, on a à notre disposition un autre trésor, naturel celui-là, qu’il faut aller explorer! Randonnée, baignade, surf à pagaie, vélo, escalade, et tant d’autres idées pour lâcher son fou! Le principe est tout simple : le matin, en se levant, on décide ce qui nous tente le plus, et c’est parti! Si on tombe en panne d’inspiration — ce qui serait étonnant —, on demande conseil à Martin ou Jean-Luc, ils se feront un plaisir de partager leurs coups de cœur.

Visiteur d’un jour au Vieux Loup de Mer, ou voyageur au long cours, il faut emprunter l’escalier qui donne un accès privilégié à la grève. Rien ne régénère autant que le contact direct avec cette force de la nature qu’est le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Quand le soleil se couche, le ciel en entier s’embrase, c’est à couper le souffle! Omniprésent sur le site, ce voisin bienveillant nous berce et nous fait rêver aux aventures les plus folles! Au retour d’une journée à se dépenser, on ouvre une bonne bouteille, on s’installe sur notre balcon et on savoure l’instant.

20 ans d’accueil impeccable, et ça se poursuit

L’histoire du Vieux Loup de Mer commence en 1999, alors que Martin et Jean-Luc font l’acquisition d’un petit chalet suisse, qui se trouve d’ailleurs encore sur le site. À l’époque, il faut une bonne dose d’imagination pour entrevoir les possibilités de cette habitation qui manque d’amour. De l’imagination, et de la vision, ces deux-là n’en manquent pas! Au fil des années, les chalets se sont multipliés, transportés un à un par Jean-Luc (oui, on se répète, mais avez-vous bien saisi la somme de travail???), l’offre s’est diversifiée, le fonctionnement s’est précisé. En 2006, Martin commençait à travailler à temps plein sur le projet, rejoint en 2011 par Jean-Luc. Aujourd’hui, on profite d’un service haut de gamme, on est traités aux petits oignons et on peut tout oublier de la vie extérieure le temps d’un séjour fabuleux.

C’est à ça qu’ils carburent, tous les deux : à l’accueil et à l’hospitalité. Martin cherche à s’assurer que le séjour de chacun sera unique et mémorable, et à la quantité de commentaires enchantés qu’il reçoit, on sait qu’il vise dans le mille! Jean-Luc agit quant à lui sur l’ambiance, le décor, les atmosphères. Si Martin est le metteur en scène, Jean-Luc est le directeur artistique!

Mille mercis à eux de nous avoir fait découvrir ce refuge incomparable.

PARTAGER

Marjolaine Quintal

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et découvrez l'art de vivre en plein air.

Inscrivez-vous à notre infolettre et découvrez l'art de vivre en plein air.