Diversity in Glamping: Tame the outdoors | Glampsource

Glampsource

diversity in glamping

Diversity in glamping

Promoting diversity
in glamping and outdoors

By Ariel Bélanger

May 21 marked the World Day for Cultural Diversity. As glamping, agri-tourism and local activities enthusiasts, we are constantly exposed to the diversity between the beautiful regions we discover and we can be proud to be interested in the different cultures, the history of others and the richness of the connections that our discoveries bring us. This is why we have collaborated with Mary Soueidan to explore the topic of diversity in glamping and the outdoors.

Glamping
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Mary is a Montreal-based content creator who radiates her passion for travel and shares her adventures in the city and in nature. Ambassador for the Daughters of the NorthAmbassador, she writes blog posts that provide advice to outdoor enthusiasts who are still in their early stages of exploration.

It was while discovering her husband's native region, Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, that Mary became familiar with the outdoors and glamping. Today, she is passionate about these moments in nature and the local discoveries she makes beyond her career as an occupational therapist.

Canoe
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Mary has always dreamed of travelling and as a Montreal-born daughter of Asian and Middle Eastern parents, she also raises awareness in her community of the issues faced by visible minorities when leaving the big city to rejuvenate in the regions.

Diversity is a subject that is very close to her heart and as part of the World Day for Cultural Diversity last Friday, she shared with us her advice as a friend to be aware of diversity in the region.

"I felt this discomfort when visiting areas outside of Montreal when I first started hiking with my Quebec husband, about 5 years ago now. It was micro-gestures that made all the difference to me [...] These gestures may be imperceptible to some, but hurtful to someone who notices them. »

We tell you how you can use these tips to be more inclusive on your next glamping holiday.

1 - Greet or smile at everyone without assuming they don't speak French

Hiking
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

When you go away from your cabin in the woods, your mini-cabin or your yurt to walk on the trails, you often cross paths with other outdoor enthusiasts.

It's a short moment but it makes our day even brighter, because not only do we connect with nature, but also with people who share the same passion as us.

A "hello", a smile or even a simple nod can be enough as a sign of politeness to any hiker or tourist you meet on your way, without exception!

"I would like people to remember this: you may come across someone on your way who has never hiked or visited your area; greet them and offer them a smile to encourage them in their explorations so that they have good memories.

A simple but effective action! Little things make a big difference - you just have to put them into action.

2 - Look at each person as a friend enjoying nature, like you

Coaticook Microbrewery
Photo credit: Microbrasserie Coaticook

When you enjoy the spa, a microbrewery, a beautiful terrace or the beach, don't forget that if other people enjoy these places of diversity in glamping, they are also there for the same reasons as you: to recharge their batteries, to breathe, to relax, to unwind. Nature is a big family where everyone is equal.

"This issue is important to me because everyone is entitled to the same thing: respect for others, no matter what our ethnicity is or what we look like. More than ever, people are recharging their batteries outdoors and finding a safe haven from the city; I believe that nature should be accessible to all and remain a place where there is no judgment. »

3 - Encourage people who are trying a new activity without judging them

Paddleboard
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Do you remember the first time you climbed a mountain? When you stood up on a paddleboard? Riding a bike? Great moments, weren't they? You probably didn't have the same level of graciousness as you do now... or maybe you do, if you're a great sportsman! Whatever your level, remember your "firsts" when you see someone trying a new activity.

4 - Ask someone directly if you are curious about their background

Glamping
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Travelling and discovering new places brings us so many beautiful meetings and conversations. We can also make beautiful human discoveries when we are interested in others (as beautiful as the landscapes we admire!). 

5 - Be respectful in your interactions with others

Tanning
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Because with the beautiful summer heat and time spent outside, the sun gives us all a natural complexion, and whether you're one of those who keeps a milky complexion or one who grills like a little crab, let's stay respectful when it comes to skin colour. 

6 - Connect with people from different backgrounds on your social networks

Mary Soueidan
Photo credit: @mary.swaydan

Are you also one of those who, even when not travelling or in the open air, thinks, talks and dreams about the outdoors? So do we!

And the best way to keep up to date with what's happening in the world of glamping diversity and agri-tourism is to follow pages and people who talk about it.

You can make the experience even more enjoyable by following diverse people who bring you quality content that is different from what you are used to seeing.

"I believe that conversation is the key. Talk to your friends or acquaintances from diverse backgrounds to understand the issues they have experienced or continue to experience. If you don't have friends from a visible minority, try listening to podcasts or videos that can enlighten you on certain points of view that you may not have known before. »

Here are a few outdoor accounts that Mary recommends you follow to see more diversity on your Instagram:

 

@unlikelyhikers
@melaninbasecamp
@colourthetrails
@lilyonthemove

 

And who are the people who inspire you?
If you are interested in the outdoors, please visit our blog section!

Diversité en Glamping : Apprivoisé le plein air | Glampsource

Glampsource

diversité en glamping

La diversité en glamping

Promouvoir la diversité
en glamping et en plein air

Par Ariel Bélanger

Le 21 mai dernier marquait la journée mondiale de la diversité culturelle. En tant que passionnés de glamping, d’agrotourisme et d’activités locales, nous sommes constamment exposés à la diversité entre les belles régions que nous découvrons et nous pouvons être fiers de nous intéresser aux différentes cultures, à l’histoire des autres et à la richesse des connections que nos découvertes nous amènent. C’est pourquoi nous avons collaboré avec Mary Soueidan pour approfondir le sujet de la diversité en glamping et en plein air.

Glamping
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Mary est une créatrice de contenu Montréalaise qui rayonne de sa passion du voyage et qui nous partage ses aventures en ville et en nature. Ambassadrice des Filles du Nord, elle écrit des articles de blogue qui conseillent les adeptes de plein air qui sont encore à leurs débuts en tant qu’explorateurs.

C’est d’ailleurs en découvrant la région natale de son mari, le Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, que Mary a apprivoisé le plein air et le glamping. Elle est aujourd’hui passionnée par ces moments en nature et les découvertes locales qu’elle fait au-delà de sa carrière d’ergothérapeute.

Canoe
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Mary a toujours rêvé de voyages et en tant que fille née à Montréal de parents originaires d’Asie et du Moyen Orient, elle sensibilise aussi sa communauté aux enjeux vécus par les minorités visibles lorsqu’on sort de la grande ville pour aller se ressourcer en région.

La diversité est un sujet qui lui tient énormément à cœur et dans le cadre de la journée mondiale de la diversité culturelle de vendredi dernier, elle nous a partagé ses conseils d’amie pour être sensibilisé à la diversité en région.

« J’ai ressenti cet inconfort en visitant des régions à l’extérieur de Montréal lorsque je commençais à randonner avec mon mari québécois, il y a environ 5 ans maintenant. C’était des micro-gestes qui ont fait toute la différence pour moi […] Ces gestes peuvent être imperceptibles pour certains, mais blessants pour quelqu’un qui les remarque. »

On t’explique comment tu peux appliquer ses conseils pour être plus inclusif lors de tes prochaines vacances en glamping.

1 - Salue ou souris à tout le monde sans assumer qu’ils ne parlent pas français

Randonnée
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Quand on s’éloigne de sa cabane dans le bois, de son mini-chalet ou de sa yourte pour aller marcher dans les sentiers, on croise souvent le chemin d’autres amateurs de plein air.

C’est un petit moment court mais qui ensoleille notre journée encore plus, car non seulement on connecte avec la nature, mais aussi avec les humains qui partagent la même passion que nous.

Un « bonjour », un sourire ou encore un simple hochement de tête peut suffire comme signe de politesse à tout randonneur ou touriste que tu croises sur ton chemin, sans exception!

« J’aimerais que les gens se rappellent de ceci: il se peut que vous croisiez quelqu’un sur votre chemin qui n’a jamais randonné ou visité votre région; saluez les et offrez-leur un sourire pour les encourager lors de leurs explorations pour qu’ils en gardent de bons souvenirs.

Un geste tout simple, mais efficace! Les petites choses font toute la différence – il suffit de les mettre en action. »

2 - Regarde chaque personne comme un ami profitant de la nature, comme toi

Microbrasserie Coaticook
Crédit photo : Microbrasserie Coaticook

Lorsque tu profiteras du spa, d’une microbrasserie, d’une belle terrasse ou de la plage, n’oublie pas que si d’autres personnes, profitent de ces lieux de diversité en glamping, ils sont aussi là pour les mêmes raisons que toi : se ressourcer, respirer, se détendre, décrocher. La nature est une grande famille où tout le monde est égal.

« Cet enjeu est important pour moi puisque tout le monde a droit à la même chose: le respect des autres, peu importe notre ethnicité ou de quoi nous avons l’air. Plus que jamais, les gens se ressourcent dehors et y trouvent un havre de paix en sortant de la ville; je crois que la nature devrait être accessible pour tous et rester un endroit où il n’y a pas de jugement. »

3 - Encourage les gens qui essaient une nouvelle activité sans les juger

Paddleboard
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Te souviens-tu de la première fois où tu as gravi un sommet? Où tu t’es levé sur un paddleboard? Où tu es monté à vélo? De beaux moments, n’est-ce pas? Tu n’avais sûrement pas le même niveau de gracieuseté qu’aujourd’hui… ou peut-être que oui, si tu es un grand sportif! Peu importe ton niveau, souviens-toi de tes “premières fois” lorsque tu verras quelqu’un essayer une nouvelle activité.

4 - Pose directement la question à quelqu’un si tu es curieux sur ses origines

Glamping
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Voyager et découvrir de nouveaux endroits nous amène tellement de belles rencontres et de belles conversations. On peut y faire de belles découvertes humaines aussi lorsqu’on s’intéresse à l’autre (aussi belles que les paysages qu’on y admire!). 

5 - Reste respectueux dans tes interactions avec les autres

Bronzage
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Parce qu’avec la belle chaleur d’été et le temps passé à l’extérieur, le soleil nous donne tous un petit teint naturel, et que tu sois de ceux qui gardent un teint de lait ou de ceux qui grillent comme un petit crabe, restons respectueux quand il est question de la couleur de la peau. 

6 - Abonne-toi à des gens de différentes origines sur tes réseaux sociaux

Mary Soueidan
Crédit photo : @mary.swaydan

Es-tu aussi de ceux qui, même quand il n’est pas en voyage ou en plein air; pense, parle et rêve de plein air? Nous aussi!

Et le meilleur moyen de se tenir au courant de ce qui se passe dans le monde de la diversité en glamping et de l’agrotourisme, c’est de suivre des pages et des personnes qui en parlent.

Tu peux rendre l’expérience encore plus agréable en suivant des personnes diversifiées et qui t’amènent du contenu de qualité qui se démarque de ce qu’on a l’habitude de voir.

« Je crois que la conversation est la clé. Parlez à vos amis ou vos connaissances de diverses origines pour comprendre les enjeux qu’ils ont vécus ou qu’ils continuent de vivre. Si vous n’avez pas d’amis issus d’une minorité visible, essayez d’écouter des balados ou vidéos qui peuvent vous éclaircir sur certains points de vues que vous n’aurez jamais connus auparavant. »

Voici quelques comptes plein air que Mary te conseille de suivre pour voir plus de diversité sur ton Instagram:

 

@unlikelyhikers
@melaninbasecamp
@colourthetrails
@lilyonthemove

 

Et toi, qui sont les gens qui t’inspirent?
Si le sujet du plein air t’intéresse, n’hésite pas à visiter notre section blogue!

Publier un commentaire